Subsidiary Body

It is an institutional group that belongs to the UNFCCC (referred to as the parent organisation / body) and was established by either COP or CMA. Currently, there are two permanent subsidiary bodies – the Subsidiary Body for Scientific and Technological Advice (SBSTA) and the Subsidiary Body for Implementation (SBI). The SBSTA and the SBI have traditionally met in parallel, twice a year. When they are not meeting in conjunction with the COP, the subsidiary bodies usually convene at the seat of the secretariat in Bonn, Germany. There are other technical subsidiary bodies that have limited membership (constituted bodies) established under the Convention, and are formed to deal with specific areas.

« Back to Glossary Index